Is My Blue Your Blue?

When we are born, our parents become our first teachers. They teach us our mother language and give us the basis of our knowledge of the world around us. And with each bit of information they hand us we latch onto it and carry it with us forever, most of it becoming subconscious in the file folders of intelligence in the backs of our brains.One of the first things they bring to our attention, as soon as we can speak a few short words back to them, along with animal sounds and letters, are our colors. You start with the rainbow, 8 simple colors, and keep going, as they point to the objects in your surroundings, demanding to know the hue of each.

They hand us the ABC blocks and explain that this one is blue, that one is green, and the other one is red. But have you ever considered that the standard blue I learned is not the same color you see when you see something that you consider blue. My orange may be the color of your green, yet when we learned the colors of each thing around us we learned the like names of things, creating an illusion of common colors.

In theory, I could have a sky that looks just like your purple, you could have a sky that looks just like my green, and when we both name the color of the sky we simultaneously report back “blue”. I’m not sure this is something we’ll ever find the truth in, and if we can it will take an extreme amount of scientific research. However, I’ll always wonder if my purple looks like your purple, my orange looks like your orange, my yellow looks like your yellow…

Is my blue your blue?Image

2 thoughts on “Is My Blue Your Blue?

  1. I really injoyed your article it made me look at the colors around me differently and I like that you had a visual at the end of the article. Great Job!!!!

Leave a Reply

