You Know What’s Better than Tofu?

EVERYTHING.

And that’s my most honest, down to earth answer I can give you. I mean, why on earth would God put as at the top of the food chain, only to have us save every little animal and result to consuming a bland, tasteless concoction such as tofu?

Tofu, also called bean curd, is a food made by coagulating soy juice and then pressing the resulting curds into soft white blocks. ” – Wikipedia on ‘Tofu’.

As you can see, the process even sounds disgusting! Either we can have a nice hearty slab of steak, a truly natural thing for humans to eat, or we can coagulate some of our soy juices for our dinner. Your choice.

Now I can’t argue that tofu tastes terrible, more accurately I see it as the equivalent of water in the food world. I’ve had it served deliciously in miso soup and wraps from Chico’s T. Bar Fusion and Cafe; but when simply served as tofu. No, thanks though. And when, as humans, we have just about every animal at our fingertips, I see absolutely no problem in enjoying a nice juicy steak, some pork roast, bacon, or some beer can chicken. Not to mention the staple it can provide in so many delicious meals.

If your a health nut and you love your tofu, I see no problem with it. But when you go so far as to substitute it into cold lasagna and limpy sandwiches? That is simply a disgrace to the human palate!

I just really don't like tofu okay?

I just really don’t like tofu okay?

On the other hand, if you resort to tofu because  you’re against animal cruelty and what not, I halfway respect you. As you may have assumed so far due to my angst against tofu, I’m honestly not a raging tyrant against animals. I’m all for treating animals well in the process (although I do have a soft spot for veal piccata) but in the end, I like having meat on my plate and I’m not going to change the end result in my meal for it.

Leave a Reply

