The Vanity Social Media Instills

BLOG POST FOR MARCH WEEK 1

In the age that technology has brought us to today, few people are not frequently engaged with social media sites. Between Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram, an age of selfies has been created.

From the mirror shots to the arm-out-obviously-taking-your-own-picture poses to the duck faces of our generation, pictures of ourselves and our friends clutter the internet. Just about everybody is guilty, particularly teenage girls.

It becomes a competition, a sign of popularity. I don’t blame this on anybody, and I succumb to it as well. Maybe it isn’t even a bad thing, simply a way of social life in this day and age. The point is, we are constantly posting pictures of ourselves in the hopes that we will get a solid number of likes and several comments praising us on our good looks.

It becomes a self confidence tool, a motive to look good, a new source of vanity.

I’ll use myself as an example. Every couple of months I’ll update my profile picture and in between those time periods I might post a picture on my wall. As I click the post button each time I find myself desperately hoping for a lot of likes. It has, unfortunately, become a reaffirming, self-confidence gaining, way for me to feel that I am, in fact, attractive. I want to believe that I put these up without caring what my friends, family, and peers think of me and my pictures, yet I do.

And, I don’t think I’m the only one. But what we all really need to do is find satisfaction in how we look and care less about the opinion of the public. It’s wonderful to feel loved and attractive, but that should come second so that we truly believe it.

As Charlie says in The Perks of Being a Wallflower, “We accept the love we think we deserve.” We’ll accept the admiration we think we deserve as well; but if we have enough confidence to know the truth then we also won’t rely on it.

P.S. I’m sorry if this post came across as highly shallow. While it does focus on our looks, I think that it has a good deal of truth in it.

Leave a Reply

