Glove Compartment (And its Inaccurate Name)

BLOG POST MAY WEEK 4

Well here I am, 10 years late, finally appreciating the beauty of Death Cab for Cutie’s 2003 song “Titles and Registration”. I’ve been sitting at my desk, researching colleges to try and maybe figure out my future, and as always, this activity is accompanied with music. The playlist du jour happens to be The Lumineers radio on Pandora. With music from Mumford & Sons, Imagine Dragons, The Head &The Heart, Tristan Prettyman, and Of Monsters & Men to name a few, this station is by far my favorite. I listened as I always do, halfway paying attention to the familiar music, occasionally pausing to appreciate lyrics to a song I particularly like.

Then, Death Cab for Cutie came on. I’m not sure that I’ve ever really listened to them and now I’m not sure why. I love it when a song has the most peculiar lyrics, that are so obviously true, yet so entirely random that they make you stop in your tracks. This is “Titles and Registration.”

The glove compartment is inaccurately named
And everybody knows it.
So i’m proposing a swift orderly change.Cause behind its door there’s nothing to keep my fingers warm
And all i find are souvenirs from better times
Before the gleam of your taillights fading east
To find yourself a better life.

I was searching for some legal document
As the rain beat down on the hood
When i stumbled upon pictures i tried to forget
And that’s how this idea was drilled into my head

Cause it’s too important
To stay the way it’s been

There’s no blame for how our love did slowly fade
And now that it’s gone it’s like it wasn’t there at all
And here i rest where disappointment and regret collide
Lying awake at night

There’s no blame for how our love did slowly fade
And now that it’s gone it’s like it wasn’t there at all
And here i rest where disappointment and regret collide
Lying awake at night (up all night)
When i’m lying awake at night.

It’s short, smart, carefully crafted, and absolutely perfect. It tells this story that can be deep or just lay there, depending on how you want to listen. And I like it, I like it a lot.

Image

Leave a Reply

